BASIL ALKAZZI- LES RITES DU PRINTEMPS

PAR DONALD KUSPIT

Image:

La tradition romantique du sublime abstrait—de l’espace visionnaire imbibé d’apport spirituel—a été parmi nous au moins depuis Turner, et c’est la lumière de William Turner qui informe les images visionnaires de la nature de Basil Alkazzi. « The Rites of Spring » [Les Rites du Printemps] forment un groupe et « Ascension » [Ascension] et « Eternel Whisperings » [Murmures Eternels] pris ensemble, forment un autre groupe. Chacun engage la nature d’une manière différente ; ils représentent les extrêmes de la communion avec la nature. »The Rites of Spring » [Les Rites du Printemps] transmettent l’immersion extatique dans la nature ; « Ascension » [Ascension] et « Eternel Whisperings » [Murmures Eternels] suggèrent une certaine admiration détachée de cette nature. Dans le premier, la lumière est éternelle—immanente dans la matière, et la transformant pour qu’elle semble immatérielle. Dans les seconds, la lumière est externe—explicitement de l’au-delà. Les fleurs des « Rites of Spring » [Rites du Printemps] sont des épanouissements de lumière ; les objets circulaires du ciel—certains sont comme des comètes, d’autres suggèrent des corps astraux—dans « Ascension » [Ascension] et « Eternel Whisperings » [Murmures Eternels] apportent le don de la lumière à la terre, venant d’une grande distance pour illuminer notre pauvre monde. Les fleurs sont des auras dynamiques pleines de forces de vie—de véritables rayonnements rhapsodiques. Au contraire, les objets du ciel sont plus auto-contenus, quelque soit leur aptitude aurique. La lumière des deux est mystérieuse et surnaturelle, mais la luminosité des fleurs plantées dans la terre est jaune et incandescente, alors que les objets du ciel, comme des pierres précieuses, luisent d’une brillante lumière blanche, appropriée à leur caractère cosmique et lointain. Les fleurs et les objets de Basil Alkazzi ont l’air délicat, mais leur lumière légère, incessante, leur donne une vigueur et une intensité cosmique ce qui donne à l’ensemble du tableau une grandeur intérieure et balaye ce qui dément leurs modestes dimensions.

Mais ces tableaux n’expriment pas seulement le regard de Basil Alkazzi sur la nature, mais la nature elle- même. La nature est une fois de plus miraculeuse, sans tache, sacrée, dans ces tableaux. C’est une incarnation de la créativité divine, le rendant manifeste même lorsqu’il transmet son énigme. C’est le Transcendantalisme de Basil Alkazzi qui est si remarquable, encore plus dans cet âge profane. Ce qui est impressionnant dans ses images est l’idéalisme d’Emerson, ou, comme le dit élégamment le théologien phénomène Robert Corrington, leur « naturalisme extatique ». « Bien que l’on ne puisse pas revenir à une compréhension romancée ou élogieuse de la nature, » écrit Corrington, « il est possible de réaligner le processus humain sur ces forces naturelles et spirituelles qui donnent forme à la signification et à la communication. Le naturalisme extatique est une perspective qui honore les forces auto-transcendantes à l’intérieur de la nature qui renouvellent continuellement l’ordre du monde. » [1]

Image: Image:

Les fleurs ravissantes pleines de force de vie de Basil Alkazzi sont comme des bois en feu qui signalent la présence du divin, et ses objets du ciel envahissent et se superposent à l’espace humain, le rendant plus magique—insondable-jusqu’au moment où on ne peut plus faire la différence entre l’espace humain et cosmique, et finalement on perd toute notion qu’il y a un espace humain—littéralement, on quitte nos sens. Si « Ascension VIII » [Ascension VIII] présente une lumière céleste envahissant avec force le ciel bleu atmosphérique de la terre, alors « Ascension VI » [AscensionVI] et « Ascension VII » [AscensionVII] traduisent l’état mystique ultime : la fusion avec la lumière divine a éliminé toutes traces de présence terrestre. La lumière dans la première est fine et élusive, la lumière dans la dernière est dense et compacte mais dans les deux cas elle se répand sur la surface. Les deux œuvres transmettent le moment de l’illumination gnostique, quand les forces de l’obscurité-elles sont subliminales même dans le bleu apparemment pur du ciel-sont surmontées et que le monde matériel est complètement détruit. [Ce bleu ciel est associé avec la terre pour Basil Alkazzi, cela est évident depuis « Eternel Whisperings I, V and VI » [Murmures Eternels I , V , et VI] où des feuillages verts brillants apparaissent. Dans « Eternel Whisperings in Spring III, IV, and V » [Murmures Eternels au Printemps III ,IV , et V] le ciel devient jaune, complètement lumineux, suggérant une dématérialisation et un processus de transformation spirituelle. Cela semble être confirmé par le fait que le feuillage lentement mais sûrement perd sa couleur verte pour devenir aussi radieux que le ciel. En général, pour Basil Alkazzi, le processus de spiritualisation implique la libération-en fait la récupération-de la lumière qui est la source d’énergie pour le processus de photosynthèse par lequel les plantes vertes produisent des hydrates de carbone à partir du dioxyde de carbone et de l’eau. C’est le processus de base de la créativité organique, et les hydrates de carbone contiennent seulement du carbone, de l’hydrogène, et de l’oxygène, les éléments de base de la vie.]

Image: Image: Image:

Mais cela n’est pas la fin de l’histoire spirituelle : absolument partout , la lumière se multiplie- avec une furie parthénogénétique [ l’absolu peut créer seul, indiquant ce que Corrington appelle sa puissance auto- transcendante]-en corps célestes. Ils sont une forme de vie spirituelle- à distinguer de naturelle- : ils sont la vie pure « surnaturelle ». Quelquefois ils projettent des rayons qui transpercent l’espace comme une explosion, d’autres fois ils engendrent une atmosphère pleine d’auras qui les entourent comme une membrane protectrice. Aboutir dans tous les cas à un état de différentiation mystique, dans lequel le soi terrestre et la lumière divine fusent- ou plutôt dans lequel le premier se dissout ou fond dans le second- conduit à une nouvelle différentiation cosmique, c’est-à-dire, un nouveau commencement mystique de la vie. Les cercles célestes de Basil Alkazzi sont comme des spores qui attendent le bon moment artistique pour libérer leur pouvoir de vie.

Les fleurs pleines de force de vie littéralement merveilleuses et prodigieuses des « Rites of Spring » [Rites du Printemps]-elles expriment la fascination que la nature a pour l’artiste- combinent les traditions de l’imagerie de la mature mystique européennes et américaines. Elles ont une ressemblance de famille avec les tableaux de fleurs de Mondrian, qui sont maintenant considérés comme une partie cruciale de son œuvre, et qu’il a continué à peindre tout au long de sa carrière, semblant montrer ainsi que la nature a autant d’apport spirituel que la géométrie célébrée par ses abstractions. On connaît la géométrie éternelle depuis Platon, mais la nature éternelle était connue bien avant lui, comme l’indiquent les écrits préSocratiques.

Image: Image: Image:

« The Rites of Spring » [Les Rites du Printemps] correspondent également à la tradition américaine du paysage , à la fois par la complexité de leur lumière- comme les Luministes, Basil Alkazzi est capable de communiquer les nuances de la lumière en perpétuel changement sans y mettre fin- et leur rendu de la croissance organique .Sa nature détient et transmet le mystère et l’excitation de la vie organique en termes abstraits. Ils transmettent un sens typiquement américain de la nature en tant qu’élément vivant, une force et un processus irrépressible, l’ultime source de la créativité, transcendant ses propres créations organiques. « The Rites of Spring » [Les Rites du Printemps ] est bien sur le titre de la composition de Stravinsky, mais la version imagée de Basil Alkazzi donne un sens américain d’une nature indomptable et indomptée, pas seulement d’une nature brute- d’une nature complètement hors de portée de la civilisation de l’exploitation, pas seulement la précédant. Le primitivisme dans son aspect le plus pur et authentique implique une idéalisation de la nature aux dépends de l’humanité- ce qui est toujours corrupteur plutôt que flatteur- et c’est ce primitivisme spirituel que l’on trouve dans l’imagerie de la nature mystique de Basil Alkazzi ainsi que chez les peintres primitifs américains du transcendantalisme. Dans leurs œuvres ainsi que dans celle de Basil Alkazzi il y a un sens de paradis trouvé plutôt que perdu, en fait de paradis avant déchéance d’expérience émotionnelle.

Basil Alkazzi a trouvé l’archétype vital de la nature cosmique à l’intérieur de celle de la nature terrestre. Il montre que ce qui semble être une forme creuse a un contenu d’archétype. Sa couleur riche et sa ligne dynamique vont loin pour nous convaincre que ses fleurs pleines de vie et ses objets célestes ont un apport d’archétype- tendant à remettre leur origine dans l’entité spirituelle, indiquant que la vie naturelle et simultanément une vie spirituelle, et, en tant que telle, un signe de l’objectif spirituel et du caractère sacré du cosmos. Ses fleurs montrent que les objets célestes sont sur le point de les transpercer, ce qui suggère que la séparation entre l’espace naturel et l’espace cosmique- implicitement matière et esprit- est loin d’être absolue. Ce n’est qu’à cet égard qu’il est en désaccord avec Emerson, qui a déclaré que « la santé de l’œil semble exiger un horizon » [3]. Basil Alkazzi nous montre que l’œil est vraiment en bonne santé quand il peut regarder au-delà de l’horizon, sans un cadre pour sa conscience.

Image:
Notes:

1. Robert S. Corrington, « Nature and Spirit » [Nature et Esprit] (New York Fordham University Press 1992) p.x

2. Hugh Honour « Romanticism » [Romanticisme] (New York : Harper &Row 1979) p.57

3. Ralph Waldo Emerson, « Nature, Addresses and Lectures » [Nature, Adresses, et Conférences] (Cambridge, MA : Harvard University Press 1979) p.13

Traduit et tapé par : Diane Bourély-Médecin.

DONALD KUSPIT

Donald Kuspit est l’un des plus éminents critiques d’art des Etats-Unis. Vainqueur du prestigieux « Frank Jewett Mather Award for Distinction in Art Criticism » [ Prix Frank Jewett Mather pour la Distinction dans la Critique d’Art] (1983), remis par la « College Art Association », le professeur Kuspit est un rédacteur qui contribue aux magazines : Artforum, Sculpture, et New Art Examiner, le rédacteur de Art Criticism, et il appartient au Comité Consultatif de la Centennial Review. Il possède des doctorats en Philosophie ( Michigan University), ainsi que des diplômes de Columbia University, de Yale University et Pennsylvania State University. Il a également suivi le cours de l’Institut Psychanalytique du New York University Medical Center.

Il a reçu des doctorats honoraires en Fine Arts du Davidson College(1993) et de San Franscisco Institute of Art (1996). En 1997, l’Association Nationale des Ecoles d’Art et de Design lui a remis une Citation pour Eminents Services rendus aux Arts Visuels. En 1998, il recevra le titre de Docteur Honoraire en lettres de Illinois University à Champaign-Urbana. Il est Professeur d’Histoire de l’Art et de Philosophie à State University of New York à Stony Brook, et Professeur Général auprès de A.D. White à Cornell University. Il a reçu des bourses de la part de la Fondation Ford, la Commission Fulbright, la Fondation Nationale des Sciences Humaines, la Fondation Nationale pour les Arts, la fondation Guggenheim, et le Conseil Culturel Asiatique, parmi d’autres organisations.

Il a écrit de nombreux articles, des revues d’expositions, et des essais pour catalogues. Ses livres les plus récents sont : « The Cult of the Avant-Garde Artist »[Le Culte de l’Artiste d’Avant-Garde] (New York, Cambridge University Press, 1993 ; également en Allemand, Klagenfurt, Ritter Verlag 1995 ; et Italien, Nike Press, 1997) « The Dialectic of Decadence » [ la Dialectique de la Décadence] (New York , Stux Press,1993), « The New Subjectivism : Art in the 1980’s »[ le Nouveau Subjectivisme : l’Art dans les années 80] ( Ann Arbor, UMI Research Press, 1998 ; réédité à New York, Da Capo Press, 1993), « The Photography of Albert Renger-Patzsch » [la Photographie d’Albert Renger- Patzsch] (New York, Aperture,1993), «Signs of Psyche in Modern and Postmodern Art » [Les Signes de la Psyché dans l’Art Moderne et Postmoderne], (New York, Cambridge University Press, 1994), « Primordial Presences : The Sculpture of Karel Appel » [Présences primordiales : la Sculpture de Karel Appel], (New York, Abrams, 1994), « Health and Happiness in Twentieth Century Avant-Garde Art » [la Santé et le Bonheur dans l’Art d’Avant-Garde du Vingtième Siècle],( avec Lynn Gamwell ; Ithaca, Cornell University Press, 1996), « Idiosyncratic Identities : Artists at the End of the Avant-Garde » [Identités Idiosyncrasique : Artistes à la Fin de l’Avant-Garde], (New York, Cambridge University Press , 1996) et « Chihuly » (New York, Abrams, 1997). Il a également écrit « Clement Greenberg, Critique d’Art ; Leon Golub : Existencialiste/Peintre Activiste ; Eric Fischl ; Louise Bourgeois ; Alex Katz : Peintures de nuit » et « « The Critic Is Artist : the intentionality of Art »[ Le Critique est Artiste : l’Intentionnalité de l’Art]. Il est le rédacteur d’une série sur la Critique d’Art Américaine pour Cambridge University Press.

BASIL ALKAZZI-
THE RITES OF SPRING...

BY DONALD KUSPIT

Image:

The romantic tradition of the abstract sublime– of visionary space imbued with spiritual import– has been with us at least since Turner, and it is William Turner' s light that informs Basil Alkazzi's visionary images of nature. The Rites of Spring form one group and Ascension and Eternal Whisperings taken together, form another group. Each engages nature in a different way; they represent the extremes of communion with nature. The Rites of Spring convey ecstatic immersion in nature; Ascension and Eternal Whisperings suggest a certain detached admiration of it. In the former, light is eternal– immanent in matter, and transforming it so that it seems immaterial. In the latter, light is external– explicitly from the beyond. The flowers of The Rites of Spring are blossoms of light; the circular heavenly objects– some are like comets, others suggest astral bodies– in Ascension and Eternal Whisperings bring the gift of light to the earth, coming from a great distance to illuminate our meagre world. The flowers are dynamic life-force auras– sheer rhapsodic radiance. In contrast, the heavenly objects are more self contained, whatever their auric flair. The light of both is uncanny and eerie, but the luminosity of the earthbound flowers is yellow and incandescent, while the gemlike heavenly objects shine with a brilliant white light, appropriate to their remote, cosmic character. Basil Alkazzi's flowers and objects look delicate, but their buoyant, incessant light gives them a cosmic vigour and intensity, giving his pictures as a whole an inner grandeur and sweep that belies their modest dimensions.

But these paintings are not only about Basil Alkazzi's attitude to nature, but about nature itself. Nature is once again miraculous, unsoiled, sacred in them. It is an embodiment of divine creativity, making it manifest even as it conveys its enigma. It is Basil Alkazzi's Transcendentalism that is so remarkable, all the more so in this profane age. The impressive thing about his images is their Emersonian idealism, or, as the phenomenological theologian Robert Corrington elegantly calls it, their "ecstatic naturalism." "While we cannot return to a romanticized or eulogistic understanding of nature," Corrington writes, "it is possible to realign the human process with those natural and spiritual potencies that give shape to meaning and communication. Ecstatic naturalism is a perspective that honours the self transcending potencies within nature which continually renew the order of the world."1

Image: Image:

Basil Alkazzi's rapturous life-force flowers are like burning bushes that signal the presence of the divine, and his heavenly objects invade and overpower human space, making it into something more magical– unfathomable– until we can no longer discriminate between human and cosmic space– literally take leave of our senses. If Ascension VIII shows heavenly light forcefully invading the atmospheric blue sky of the earth, then Ascension VI and Ascension VII convey the ultimate mystical state: merger with the divine light has eliminated all traces of earthly presence. The light in the former is thin and elusive, the light in the latter is dense and impacted. But in both it suffuses the surface. Both works convey the moment of gnostic illumination, when the forces of darkness– they are subliminal even in the seemingly pure blue of the sky– are overcome and the material world is completely destroyed. [That sky blue is associated with the earth for Basil Alkazzi is evident from Eternal Whisperings I, V, and VI where bright green foliage appears. In Eternal Whisperings in Spring III, IV, and V the sky becomes yellow, completely luminous, suggesting a dematerialization and spiritual transformation process. This seems to be confirmed by the fact that the foliage slowly but surely loses its green, finally becomes as radiant as the sky. In general, for Basil Alkazzi the process of spiritualization involves the release– in effect recovery– of the light that is the energy source for the process of photosynthesis by which green plants produce carbohydrates from carbon dioxide and water. It is the basic process of organic creativity, and carbohydrates contain only carbon, hydrogen, and oxygen, the basic elements of life.]

But that is not the end of the spiritual story: consummately all over, the light spawns–- with a kind of parthogenetic fury [the absolute can create lone, indicating what Corrington calls its self-transcending potency]-- heavenly bodies. They are a form of spiritual– as distinct from natural– life: they are "supernaturally" pure life. Sometimes they shoot rays that explosively skim across space, at other times they generate an auratic atmosphere that surrounds them like a protective membrane. In all cases achieving a state of mystical dedifferentiation, in which earthly self and divine light fuse– or rather in which the former dissolves or melts in the latter– leads to a new cosmic differentiation, that is, a mystical new beginning of life. Basil Alkazzi's heavenly circles are like spores waiting for he right artistic moment to release their power of life.

Image: Image: Image:

The literally marvellous and wondrous life-force flowers of The Rites of Spring– they convey the fascination nature has for the artist– combine the traditions of European and American mystical nature imagery. They have a family resemblance to Mondrian's flower paintings, which have come to be regarded as a crucial part of his oeuvre, and which he continued to make throughout his career, as though suggesting that nature had as much spiritual import as the geometry his abstractions celebrated. Eternal geometry has been familiar since Plato, but eternal nature was familiar long before him, as the writings of the Pre-Socratics indicate. The art historian Hugh Honour has spoken of "the morality of the landscape" when describing nineteenth century romantic painting2, but underneath this morality, and more crucial and emotionally influential than it– indeed, the expressive core that makes nineteenth century landscape painting truly romantic– is what must be called the mysticism of landscape.

I have already described the mystical dimension of Basil Alkazzi's images, but I want to emphasise that the flowers in The Rites of Spring can be understood– however strange it may seem to do so– as enlarged abstract versions or abstract close-ups of the wild flowers in Constable's Dedham Vale [1828], just as Basil Alkazzi's Eternal Whisperings can be derived from Constable's cloud studies, particularly those in which light majestically breaks through the clouds. Similarly, Basil Alkazzi's light has the same inner munificence as William Turners' light. However much Basil Alkazzi presents his light in a more ritualistic way. But then Turner's light has a recurrent pattern– an inner rhythm or abstract current.

Image: Image: Image:

The Rites of Spring also fit into the American landscape tradition, both by way of the complexity of their light– like the Luminists, Basil Alkazzi is able to convey the nuances of ever changing light without finitizing it– and their rendering of organic growth. His nature more than holds its own and conveys the mystery and excitement of organic life in abstract terms. They convey a distinctly American sense of nature as a living, in-containable force and process, the ultimate source of creativity, transcending its own organic creations. The Rites of Spring is of course the title of Stravinsky's composition, but Basil Alkazzi's pictorial version convey an American sense of untamed and untameable nature, not simply raw nature– of nature altogether beyond the reach of the exploitive civilization, not simply preceding it. Primitivism at its most pure and authentic involves an idealization of nature at the expense of humanity– which is always corrupting rather than appreciative– and it is this spiritual primitivism that we find in Basil Alkazzi's mystical nature imagery as well as in the American transcendentalist primitive painters. In both their work and Basil Alkazzi's there is a sense of natural paradise found rather than lost, indeed, of a prelapsarian paradise of emotional experience

Basil Alkazzi has found the vital achetype of cosmic nature within that of mundane nature. He shows that what seems to be a hollow form has an archetypal content. His rich colour and dynamic line go a long way towards convincing us that his life-force flowers and heavenly objects have archetypal import– towards re-originating them as spiritual entities, indicating that natural life is simultaneously spiritual life, and as such a sign of the spiritual purpose and sacred character of the cosmos. His life-force flowers blot out the horizon or boundary between heaven and earth, and he shows us heavenly objects about to burst through it, suggesting that the seperation of natural space and cosmic space– implicitly matter and spirit– is far from absolute. It is only in this regard that he disagrees with Emerson, who declared that "the health of the eye seems to demand a horizon"3. Basil Alkazzi shows us that the eye is really healthy when it can see beyond the horizon, without any frame for its consciousness.

Image:
Notes:

1. Robert S. Corrington, Nature and Spirit (New York Fordham University Press 1992) p.x.

2. Hugh Honour, Romanticism (New York Harper & Row 1979) p.57

3. Ralph Waldo Emerson, Nature Addresses, and Lectures (Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press 1979) p.13.

DONALD KUSPIT

Donald Kuspit is one of America's most distinguished art critics. Winner of the presitigeous Frank Jewett Mather Award for Distiction in Art Criticism (1983), given by the College Art Association. Professor Kuspit is a Contributing Editor at Artforum, Sculpture and New Art Examiner magazines, the Editor of Art Critism and on the advisory board if Centennial Review. He has doctorates in philosophy(University of Michigan), as well as degrees from Columbia University, Yale University and Pennsylvania State University. He has also completed the course of study at the Psychoanalytic Institute of the New York University Medical Center.

He received honorary doctorates in fine arts from Davidson Collage (1993) and the San Francisco Institue of Art (1996). In 1997 the National Association of the Schools of Art and Design gave him a Citation for Distinguished Service to the Visual Arts. In 1998 he was awarded an honorary doctor of letters from the University of Illinois at Champain-Urbana. He is a Professor at the State University of New York at Stony Brook, and A.D. White Professor-at-Large at Cornell University. He has received fellowships from the Ford Foundation,Fullbright Commission, National Endowment for the Arts, Guggenheim Foundation, and the Asian Cultural Council among other organizations.

He has written numerous articles, exibition reviews and catalogue essays. His more recent books are; The Cult of the Avant-Garde Artist ( New York Cambridge University Press,1993; also in German Klagenfurt, Ritter Verlag, 1995; and Italian, Nike Press,1997), The Dialectic of Decadence (New York, Stux Press,1993); The New Subjectivism: Art in the 1980's(Ann Arbor, UMI Research Press, 1988; reissued New York,Da Capo Press,1993), The photography of Albert Renger-Patzch (New York, Aperture,1993) Sign of Psyche in Modern and Postmodern Art (New YorkCambridge University Press 1994), Primordial Presences: The Sculpture of Karel Appel (New York, Abrams,1994) Health and Happiness in the Twentieth Century Avant-Garde Art (with Lynn Gamwell; Ithica, Cornell Univesity Press,1996) and Chihuly (New York, Abrams,1997) He has written Clement Greenberg, Art Critic;Leon Golub: Existentialist/Activist Painter; Eric Fischl: Louise Bourgeois; Alex Katz: Night Paintings; and the Critic is Artist; The Intentionality of Art. He is the editor of a series on American Art Criticism for Cambridge University Press.